DIGC330 · KarEly

Kariann’s response to Duets Across the Globe

In my initial post, I reflected greatly upon my side of the duet interaction.  As it is an online experience, although we are creating a musical product together, it has a very obvious disconnect.  As such, I asked Kari a couple of questions based on the questions I sought to answer in my initial post about our online duet experience.

1.What has been your favourite song to record so far? Why?
Definitely Take me or Leave me, because it was pretty challenging but worth it in the end. This song was a bit difficult in terms of vocal ranges, but I accomplished it in the end and it was good fun!

2. What has been the most challenging aspect of recording your parts?
I think it’s got to be hitting the higher notes of a song, because I’m more of an Alto person but doing this really opens me up to other possibilities of tougher songs and also, singing loudly with my family outside of my room at 10pm in the evening!

3. Is it weird compared to singing with someone from your area? Why?
Honestly speaking? Yeah, because it was hard to know if your partner will be singing in sync to you so a little bit of caution needed to be taken while singing, and also – I’ve never really done a duet with someone online so it was a bit tricky to get used to.

4. Do you feel your approach to recording has improved since starting?
Not really haha, I’m still learning!

5. How would you try to take these duets to a new level.
Definitely doing a video, I haven’t really had the time to do so, but if I did – then making a video will be my option to take things to a “new level”.

You can follow Kari on Twitter to keep up to date with what she’s got going on.  She is currently undergoing high school studies, while Managing the Oceania Radio Department of the online Habbo Fansite This Habbo and creating content for her Youtube channel.

3 thoughts on “Kariann’s response to Duets Across the Globe

Leave a Reply

