Daily Creative · Elysse Is Turning 21 · Graphic Design

ELYSSE IS TURNING 21

21 facebook cover photo

My 21st birthday is fast approaching, and as a designer, I’ve been playing around with designs for a while…

I wanted to include relevant information such as the purpose for the event; the date; and the need for RSVP in the cover photo, so that people knew straight up that I meant business; while still having the stylistic attributes I had included on my original physical invitations.

I started my messing about with a physical invite which I finished a few months ago, and sent out to those whose addresses I knew – mostly people who lived close by.  However I quickly realised we live in an age where physical invites are no longer the most practical solution, no matter how beautifully designed they are.  Considering I did not have addressed for at least a third of my invite list, I did not want to message everyone asking for their addresses, only to spend 70c per person mailing out extra invites to those who live further away from my local area.

6tag_231115-011344

Facebook events are the obvious solution.  For many years I’ve been one of those people who claim the only reason they still on Facebook is to get invited to things.  While I still rarely post updates to my Facebook profile, that is no longer the reason I am digitally connected to this social media website; however it is still the main hub for connecting people together to gather for events. #score amirite??

Anywho, my biggest issue with that, was how to make it as visually appealing as my hand made invites.  I’d already set up a standard for those who had received their physical invitations, and I wanted to uphold that.  And so I set out creating a cover photo for my event in today’s creative exercise.

I wanted to include relevant information such as the purpose for the event; the date; and the need for RSVP in the cover photo, so that people knew straight up that I meant business; while still having the stylistic attributes I had included on my original physical invitations.

I got some information of how to set up the cover photo dimensions from this handy event on facebook!~ https://www.facebook.com/events/336235416488540; however it seemed there were two suggestions as to which size to use.

The Facebook page, suggested using a slim style banner as pictured below:
10404486_601600579947204_1056757236310077084_n

However, a guy named Tim Joppien, claimed that 1920×1080 was the way to go:
12308425_10206606977865750_7508455165845854395_n

As such, I went about creating one for both, because trial and error is the way to go!

The fixed slim banner was closer to my orignal aim; achieving a great balance between content, and white space.

The original suggested size: (SPOILER ALERT: The chosen design)
21 facebook cover photo
Screen Shot 2015-12-31 at 12.56.49 am copy
Screen Shot 2015-12-31 at 1.05.39 am

And the Joppien size:
#v1
21 facebook cover photo 2
Screen Shot 2015-12-31 at 12.57.35 am

#v2
21 facebook cover photo 4
Screen Shot 2015-12-31 at 1.04.17 am copy
Screen Shot 2015-12-31 at 1.04.24 am

Although the Joppien size looked more appealing when clicked upon, you don’t make a banner with the intent for people to click it.  As such, the fixed slim banner was closer to my orignal aim; achieving a great balance between content, and white space. Woo!!

As a bonus, I got to amend some of the visual hierarchy I had failed to find the perfect solution to when sending the physical invites; hopefully now people will show up on the Saturday instead of the Monday!

Now to invite everyone all over again!

Instagram: orangesarepink | Twitter: orangesarepinkk
5 thoughts on “ELYSSE IS TURNING 21

Leave a Reply

