Daily Creative · DIGC202 · Digital Media · Music

Love is an Open Source

Copyright allows a creator to retain the exclusive commercial rights to their intellectual property, resulting in an economic incentive to drive growth in the creative industries.  However, copyright can also strangle creativity, disallowing for advancements which could improve products.  So what options are there for those who wish to solve this problem? Enter open source: a movement based on the ethos of sharing and collaborative works.  Applied specifically to software development, it is where original source code is made freely available to be redistributed or modified, however this movement can translate beyond software as the open source approach of thinking is applied to other areas of life.

Working together in an open environment can allow for rapid prototyping developed by a number of different people, resulting in an ever improving product.  Products can be available in a perpetual beta state, allowing for short feedback loops as people identify issues and contributors fix them quickly, releasing updates and patches often, contrasting with a hierarchical model which  works with fewer resources to produce a company approved, ‘perfect product’ to release every few years.


Backing track sourced from here. Shoutout to Mitch for taking on the duet with me!!

LYRICS:

[Elysse:] Okay, can I just, say something crazy?
[Mitch:] I love crazy!
[Elysse:] The internet’s been a series of walls in my face,
and then this open movement has let me through
[Mitch:]
I was thinking the same thing! ‘Cause like
I’ve been trying to create things but I just find,
that what results isn’t as good as what we all make; together

[Elysse:] But with you…
[Mitch:] But with you
[Mitch:] I can collaborate
[Elysse:] I’ll add to this space…
[Both:]
And it’s nothing like I’ve ever made before!
Love is an open source!
Love is an open source!
Love is an open source!
[Elysse:] With you!
[Mitch:] With you!
[Elysse:] With you!
[Mitch:] With you!
[Both:] Love is an open source…

[Mitch:] I mean it’s crazy…
[Elysse:] What?
[Mitch:] We finish each other’s-
[Elysse:] new designs!
[Mitch:] That’s what I was gonna say!
[Elysse:] I’ve never met a group-
[Both:]
Who further my ideas!
Together! Good work begins!
Our community participation
Can have but one explanation
[Mitch:] You-
[Elysse:] And I-
[Mitch:] Were-
[Elysse:] Just-
[Both:] Meant to be!

[Elysse:] Say goodbye…
[Mitch:] Say goodbye…
[Both:]
To slow teams in hierarchy
We live in permanent beta, learning more!
Love is an open source!
Love is an open source!
Projects can be so much more!
[Elysse:] With you!
[Mitch:] With you!
[Elysse:] With you!
[Mitch:] With you!
[Both:] Love is an open source…

[Mitch:] Can I say something crazy?
[Elysse:] [giggles]
[Mitch:] Will you develop with me?
[Elysse:] Can I say something even crazier? Yes!

Leave a Reply

