DIGC310 · Digital Media · Graphic Design

Aesthetic Game Prototyping

One of the things I’ve been looking at lately in the development of my board game is designing the cards.  While my heart has been set on imagery to illustrate the point for the last year or so, I’ve come to the point where I’ve decided that the image style I’m after is not my forte.

Cj2YtmfWgAAN4r_

While holidaying in New Zealand I experimented with different image styles to see if that would work just as well to compliment the game, and while my little vector graphics look great on the chance cards, I don’t think that would translate as an illustrative style across the entire game.

001 Chance - Pay for Followers.jpg

What am I designing for? Print? At this stage, no.  Therefore, what I really want is something which looks nice enough that I’d be happy to send it out to external play-testers.

At this stage, what I need is something I can rapidly prototype and update quickly.  Enter advice I received from class last year: Create something which is FIST.  That is to say, something Fast, Inexpensive, Simple and Tiny.

Screen Shot 2017-03-09 at 12.48.39 am.png

And of course, what is more simple than text?  When it comes time to print, perhaps I will be able to afford a designer to create all my cards, but for now, this may be the temporary approach to creating a really nice looking game prototype.

 

Leave a Reply

